What happens to your data after…

Often people write a will before death, in which they write what they leave to whom. Did you know that the same can be done in the virtual world?

Examining a loved one’s belongings upon their death can be a daunting task, even if they have a will ready. Since so many things collected in life now live online on a server belonging to a large organization – photos, recordings, documents, notes, calendars – it is difficult to get all this information without the owner’s login information.

While this type of access may previously have required lawyers’ involvement and lengthy consent procedures, including through the courts, some platforms are beginning to incorporate tools that allow you to determine what happens to your online data in the event of your death. More giants stand out Apple and Google.

An apple In the privacy settings, you are allowed to select an “inherited contact” who will receive a special code. Upon death, relatives and acquaintances may … send this code along with the death certificate to Apple for access to everything that your relative or acquaintance has stored in iCloud; Photos, notes, mail, contacts, calendars, files, notes, health information, device backups, and more.

Unfortunately, you cannot choose which stored data you do not want to transfer after death.

Thus, one limitation is that even if a user’s iPhone is password-protected, even family members will not be able to unlock it – even if they are named as people who can “inherit” the data. Passwords on iPhone are protected by encryption, so you can’t get them with Apple’s help. All you can do is hope that all data is backed up to iCloud.

There are also restrictions on accessing certain content, as no one can access the stored passwords of websites (eg Netflix and PayPal po) or access movies, music and books purchased smrti after the death of the owner.

A similar system is also available in google browser. Google offers a very powerful system with an inactive account manager, although unlike Apple, it is fully automated and does not require a death certificate check. You can choose when to start the system (i.e. three months after you stop using your account), who has access to your stuff, and what information each person gets. You can also choose to eventually delete the data from Google’s servers.

Facebook social networking site However, it works a little differently, since it is designed to “remember” things (posts, comments, likes…) when a person dies, leaving the profile and content publicly online for people to see, with the option locked to making new changes or posts. In Facebook’s settings, you can choose to delete your account if you die, or designate an inherited contact who will have limited control over editing your memory profile. Also, selected contacts will be able to download a copy of whatever they upload without private messages.

Microsoft However, it does not currently have any such service, either for online storage or email. Namely, the company simply deletes the accounts after two years of inactivity.

Bitcoin Trader

Bitcoin Trader

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.