Facebook with the new Protect service

Facebook has started sending fraudulent messages to users in the US, but it’s actually a new security feature

Did you get an email from Facebook that you need to enable Facebook Protect? If so, you’ve probably wondered what this actually means and why you were “chosen” to run it (and what would happen if you didn’t).

Fortunately, this is not a scam, as the company has made it clear on its help page that it sends security notifications to users from the “Facebookmail.com” domain that these messages come from. You can also check this by visiting the Facebookmail.com domain, and upon your visit, you will be immediately redirected to the official Facebook website.

If you are still not sure if you received a message from your favorite social network, you can check it by going to Settings > Security and login (password and mobile security) > View recent Facebook emails.

About what is it really? Facebook Protect provides an extra layer of security for accounts deemed risky by the company. It was originally created to help elected officials, political candidates, and their employees prevent account hijacking that could help spread misinformation. With the growing threat of a Russian cyber attack and the 2022 US election on the horizon, Facebook has expanded the program to include a large number of followers who have a significant influence or importance in the broader community.

The software helps people set up two-factor verification and makes it easy to monitor threats. Additionally, all site administrators must go through a process that requires them to secure their account with 2FA (two-factor authentication) and primarily authenticate the country they’re operating in to minimize any misinformation. Site administrators must also use their real names and cannot have other profiles on the platform.

If you are invited to activate Facebook Protect and you do not do so by a certain date, you will eventually be blocked until you do. Your account won’t be deleted, it will just be frozen (you won’t be able to do anything on the platform.) The last emails sent seem to have an activation deadline of March 17, 2022, but the deadlines may vary.

However, unless Facebook explicitly notifies you to enable Facebook Protect, you do not need to take any action. The option to enable the feature won’t appear in your settings at all until Facebook specifically prompts you to sign in.

In 2022, Facebook will expand the program worldwide. Meanwhile, the most you can do is pre-set two-factor authentication if you haven’t already.

Bitcoin Trader

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *